Inner voices | Dialogues

Ensemble intercontemporain


Dylan Corlay

GYÖRGY LIGETI Chamber concert
ANNA THORVALSDOTTIR Hrím, Music for ensemble
SASHA BLONDEAU Contre-space, pour grand ensemble, French creation
MAGNUS LINDBERG Shadow of the Future, pour ensemble, creation June 2019


    GYÖRGY LIGETI Chamber concerto
    ANNA THORVALSDOTTIR Hrím, for ensemble 
    SASHA BLONDEAU New work, French creation (EIC commission)
    MAGNUS LINDBERG New work (premiere June 2019)

The Ensemble intercontemporain offers us a new and passionate immersion into today’s music with a programme that creates a dialogue between works and generations. Ligeti’s Chamber concerto (1971) is a paradox that breaks with the idea of a soloist altogether, and instead plays with combinations of timbres and rhythmic interconnections to weave sonic material that allows no single instrument to take prominence. Commissioned by the University of San Diego,  Hrím(2010), by the Icelandic composer Anna Thorvalsdottir, was conceived as a complement and mirror to Ligeti’s concerto. Through phenomena of dispersion, it transforms the latter’s sound mass from static harmony into a twirling, enveloping, harmonically ambiguous texture. This programme also presents two news works, one by the young French composer Sasha Blondeau and the other by the ever-rising Finnish star of contemporary music, Magnus Lindberg.

Add to calendar
  • January 2020
    • Sunday 19 at 15:00
From 5,50€ to 35€
1h30 approximately

By continuing your navigation, you accept the use of cookies to offer you services tailored to your interests and measure the attendance of our services.