Venice 1594 | 1989

from Marini to Nono



BAROQUE AND MODERN VIOLINS Céline Steiner, Viola Gröninger & nn
THEORBO Caroline Delume
BASS VIOLIN François Poly


    MARINI Excerpts from “ Sonata, symphony, Canzoni, Passemezzi, Baletti, Corentri, Gagliarde e Retornelli per ogni sorte d’Instrumenti”, Venice, 1629
    NONO Hay que caminar soñando for two violins

For the third and final concert, the académie des cosmopolites, an ensemble working with the composer Brice Pauset, will highlight two works related by the same town but separated by 360 years.. Published in Venice in 1629, the Sonata, Symphony Canzoni ... by Biagio Marini is an essential collection of music for violin. Touching on almost all genres of instrumental practice at the time, these pieces create a dialogue between string instruments that is ever new and unexpected, with an astounding wealth of invention. The evening’s dialogue continues with Hay que caminar soñando, by the Venetian composer Luigi Nono, a dialogue in movement where the two violinists must at the end of each section move around the room according to a plan that is partly left to chance,  as if seeking to find their way. An atypical concert in which the music develops through the multiple dimensions of time and space.

Add to calendar
  • January 2019
    • Sunday 27 at 15:00
Price M
From 5,50€ to 25€
1h15 approximately without intermission

    By continuing your navigation, you accept the use of cookies to offer you services tailored to your interests and measure the attendance of our services.